F* Yeah Fest

A couple of weeks ago, my cousin and I went to a three-day music festival in LA at USC called FYF which stands for F* Yeah Fest (took forever for me to find that out). Last year, I made a vow that each summer I would do something fun and take myself out of the mundane. This was that for me!

I planned my outfits for weeks from my Black militant outfit for Friday (no pictures) with my Kofi and huge gold hoops, my custom made coordinate (by my aunt) and my custom made Masai tribal inspired beaded necklace (beaded by me). I had a blast at this festival and it was my last hurrah in California for a while.

Music festivals are one of many ways for people of all backgrounds and walks of life to come together as one. I’m not just saying that to be corny but I witnessed this for myself. I found myself surprised to see White men rapping A Tribe Called Quest word for word and mindfully skipping words they knew would be inappropriate (I’m talking about the N word). It was great seeing children out with their parents seeing their mom’s favorite singer and watching her sing her favorite song. It’s dope and to be able to momentarily forget about the nonsense going on around the world. It was just music, decent [expensive] food and good vibes.

This festival had quite the headline from Missy Elliot, Frank Ocean, and Solange!  I absolutely love Missy Elliot and everyone who knows me well enough knows that she is quite possibly the sole reasoning behind my love for Adidas sweatsuits. Her set was soul snatching and dope and entertaining and engaging that forgot to take any pictures. Missy has a way of making me feel as I’m a part of her performance. Not only did I see Missy Elliot perform Pussycat and Work It but I got to see my favorite dancer Comfort Fedoke. Missy hasn’t performed in the US in like 10 years and that fact that I was able to be there for this is beyond me.

Friday, the only performance I remember was Missy’s.  I absolutely love Missy Elliot and everyone who knows me well enough knows that she is quite possibly the sole reasoning behind my love for Adidas sweatsuits. Her set was soul snatching and dope and entertaining and engaging that forgot to take any pictures. Missy has a way of making me feel as I’m a part of her performance. Not only did I see Missy Elliot perform Pussycat and Work It but I got to see my favorite dancer Comfort Fedoke. Missy hasn’t performed in the US in like 10 years and that fact that I was able to be there for this is beyond me.

Saturday, we saw Erykah Badu. An example of artistry branching over generations. Erykah Badu is visually and audibly pleasing and I could have watched her for hours. Aside from her being late, and my having to miss the most part of her performance to keep up with the group I was pleased that I got to witness this beauty in person. Frank Ocean was amazing as well. He utilized parts of the stage that weren’t used by other artists. We also saw A Tribe Called Quest. RIP Phife Dawg! Their performance without his was beautiful and clearly a celebration of his life.

Sunday, we literally only came to see Solange. She was AMAZING! Luckily, I wasn;t in as much of a trance as I was with Missy because I was able to take some pictures. The highlight of her performance was F.U.B.U. and how loud the crowd became. I literally felt it in my bones, with the way the world is moving today no one seems to understand that Black people actually have a bright and historical culture that isn’t for the consumption of others. What I loved was the respect her fans (that weren’t Black) had when singing along to the song. They knew better! Ya’ll when I say Solange literally does what ever dance move she wants to the beat. I’ve never seen a person dance off beat while on the beat, I love her.

If you guys have any other festivals that you think are worthy of attendance let us know!

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

