You Gon’ Learn Some Jazz Today…and some Scat, Trap Scat to be exact.

Alright, so there is this man named Masego right…aannnndddd he is nothing less than phenomenal! Masego aka @UncleSego is most definitely an artist on the rise. This soulful being first caught my ear whilst vividly watching a well known naturalista’s snap. (Shout out to you frogirl Ginny for putting me on.)

Masego is from Kingston, Jamaica, by way of Virginia, and is a fire breathing dragon when it comes to his musicianship. This young cat plays multiple instruments, but specializes in the sax. He has incorporated three styles of music, and turned them into one, TrapHouseJazz. The name is self explanatory, his music covers Trap, House, and Jazz, what more does a listener need in life right? He adds special flare by creating his own beats and using a loop machine, and to top it all off this man raps, and sings!! Lets just say God knew what he was doing when he made this one. He’s been featured on quite a few projects from various artist like GoldLink, SiR, and a collaborative EP with Medasin called the “Pink Polo.” 

The first song I heard was “Wifeable.” The song starts off with an Elevator-esque music aspect with an Island/Trap flow. The lyrics are simple, but its the groove of the music that draws the listener in. After one listen I added his album to my list of things to do. I will admit that it took me a hot minute to actually listen to his album, and had it not been for a random shuffle playlist I still might not be hip, but don’t let my delay stop you from heading to your Apple Music library, spotify, or whatever source it is that you prefer, and pressing that plus sign!

I was blessed with the opportunity to see him live just a few months back when he came out to the bay, and might I say, ALL of my expectations were met. In fact he went above and beyond; his stage presence and connection with the audience superseded that of any other club concert experience I’ve been a part of.

 

So with all that being said, Y’all go ahead and take a listen to his album “Loose Thoughts,” along with the features mentioned above. I promise you won’t regret it.

– Dominé

Leave a Reply

